TDP ministers quit from Narendra Modi government, but alliance to continue with NDA

NEW DELHI: Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary, two TDP ministers in the BJP-led Narendra Modi government, today submitted their resignations to Prime Minister Modi.

Raju later told reporters that his party will continue with BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Their resignations came a day after TDP chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu announced that the party’s ministers will quit the central government in protest against its refusal to grant special category status to the state.

Chowdary said the issue of special category status was very emotive for the state but the Centre did not address it and added that even the special package was not adequate.

He, however, said it would be unfair to say that the Centre did nothing for the state.

Naidu had earlier in the day had a telephonic conversation with Modi.

Source: Press Trust of India