Political Mirror
  • Time for Vibrant India rather than Gujarat
  • Smriti Zubin Irani for NITI Aayog;totally bullshit
  • My name is Sahoo, I keep a beard but I am not a “TERRORIST”
  • 9 years in political power; BJP could not light homes in Jharkhand
  • Narendra Modi appoints Bihar cadre IPS officer Anil Kumar Sinha as new CBI Director of India
Live Cricket
Subscribe Us

Enter your email address:

Delivered by Political Mirror

Political Mirror Like


Jharkhand Rajya Sabha poll underway, JVM-P stays away

May 3, 2012 by politicalmirror in Jharkhand with 0 Comments

Ranchi: Polling for two Rajya Sabha seats is underway in Jharkhand although the key opposition party, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P), has decided to stay away from voting.

Polling for the two Rajya Sabha seats began at 9 a.m. Thursday in the Jharkhand assembly premises in Ranchi.

The JVM-P, which has 11 legislators in the house, Thursday reiterated it would stay away from the poll.

A JVM-P executive committee meeting took place Thursday and decided to stand by its decision to stay away from the polling.

Three candidates – S.S. Ahuwalia of the Bharitya Janta Party (BJP), Sanjiv Kumar of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Pradep Balmuchu of the Congress – are in the poll fray for the two Rajya Sabha seats.

The JMM had sought the support of the BJP, requesting it to withdraw its candidate. However, the BJP’s contest the poll has irked the JMM and it issued veiled threats of destabilising the state government if its candidate lost.

Another ruling alliance partner, All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), which has five legislators, has announced it would vote for the JMM candidate.

Deputy Chief Minister and JMM leader Hemant Soren Thursday met AJSU President and Deputy Chief Minister Sudesh Mahto to sought his party’s support.

The BJP and the JMM have 18 legislators each in the 81-member house.

The All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and the Congress have five, two and 13 legislators, respectively.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Political Galleries
Our Tweets