Independents win 20, BJP 14, INLD 1 out of 35 seats in GMC Polls

NEW DELHI (INDIA):Bagging 20 out of 35 seats, the independent candidates stood out in the Gurugram Municipal Corporation (GMC) Election.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) followed the lead by winning 14 out of 35 wards, whereas the Indian National Lok Dal (INDL) won only 1 seat.

The polling began earlier on Sunday with reportedly 55.7 percent voters turning up to elect their next municipal mayor.

NOTA (None of the Above) option was available for the first time in the MCG polls in Gurugram.

The Congress was not part of the elections. Three of the victorious Independent candidates were backed by the Congress while Indian National Lok Dal backed two candidates.

Elections are taking place after 6 years in Gurugram. In 2011, BJP had won just 3 seats while independent candidates had won 26 seats.

Of the 15 women candidates who were elected, 10 were independents, while five were from the BJP.

There are a total 5,58,884 voters in Gurgaon out of which 2,76,420 cast their votes at 546 polling booths.

Here is the full list of winners
Ward 1: Mithilesh, Independent
Ward 2: Shakuntala Yadav, BJP
Ward 3: Ravinder Yadav, BJP
Ward 4: Virender Raj Yadav, INLD
Ward 5: Rimple Yadav, BJP
Ward 6: Anoop Singh, BJP
Ward 7: Madhu Azad, BJP
Ward 8: Dinesh Saini, Independent
Ward 9: Pramila Kablana, Independent
Ward 10: Sheetal Bagri, Independent
Ward 11: Yogender Singh, BJP
Ward 12: Naveen, Independent
Ward 13: Brahmprakash, BJP
Ward 14: Sanjay Pradhan, Independent
Ward 15: Seema Pahuja, Independent
Ward 16: Madhu Batra, Independent
Ward 17: Rajni, Independent
Ward 18: Subhash Singla, BJP
Ward 19: Ashwani Sharma, Independent
Ward 20: Kapil Dua, BJP
Ward 21: Dharambir, Independent
Ward 22: Sunita Yadav, Independent
Ward 23: Ashwani Sharma, BJP
Ward 24: Sunil Kumar, Independent
Ward 25: Subhash Singh, BJP
Ward 26: Praveen Lata, Independent
Ward 27: Sudesh Rani, Independent

Ward 28: Hemant Kumar, Independent
Ward 29: Kuldeep Yadav, BJP
Ward 30: Mahesh Dayma, Independent

Ward 31: Kuldeep Singh Bohra, Independent
Ward 32: Arti Yadav, BJP
Ward 33: Sunita, BJP
Ward 34: R S Rathi, Independent
Ward 35: Kusum Yadav, Independent