Political Mirror
  • Bihar ‘Blitzkrieg’ is the clarion call: Amit Shah
  • I am not in race for the post of Chief Minister: Ram Vilas Paswan
  • A fight; Not for religion
  • Officers should follow Raj Dharma instead of Dabangi
  • Salman Khan bail: Justice delayed means justice denied;how and when our judicial system is reformedɁ
Live Cricket
Subscribe Us

Enter your email address:

Delivered by Political Mirror

Political Mirror Like

Political Mirror

M directs cash transfers for social welfare schemes

September 28, 2012 by politicalmirror in Political Mirror with 0 Comments

New Delhi: Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh Friday set up a new system to ensure the beneficiaries of government welfare schemes, like old age pension and educational scholarships, receive cash directly through bank transfer.

The new initiative aims at routing all subsidies through an electronic cash transfer to bank accounts, leveraging the Aadhar cards.

The central government’s annual bill on all social welfare schemes comes to around $65 billion (Rs.3.25 lakh crore).

In this regard, the prime minister has set up a national ministerial committee under him which will also have ministers of finance, HRD and other departments dealing with social welfare as members.

The panel will now work out a road map to fast-track electronic cash transfer in respective ministries in a time bound manner, an official in the Prime Minister’s Office told IANS.

“The cash transfer mechanism will ensure the benefits reach the intended targets, wastage is reduced and there is control on expenditure, apart from facilitating reforms,” the official said.

Source: IANS

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Search The News
Political Galleries
The Vice President and Chairman, Rajya Sabha Mohd. Hamid Ansari addressing at the function to mark the 60th anniversary of the first sitting of the Parliament of India, in Central Hall of Parliament House, in New Delhi on May 13, 2012.
The President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil, the Speaker, Lok Sabha, Smt. Meira Kumar and the Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh are also seen.
Our Tweets